Canadian Pension Commission.—This Commission, established in 1933 by amendments to the Pension Act (RSC 1952, c. 207), replaced the Board of Pension Commissioners, the first organization created to deal solely with war pensions for service in Canada's Armed Forces. The Commission's main function is the administration of the Pension Act under which it adjudicates upon all claims for pension in respect of disability or death arising out of service in Canada's Armed Forces; and Parts I to X inclusive of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act, which provide for the payment of pensions in respect of death or disability arising out of civilian service directly related to the prosecution of World War II. It also adjudicates on claims for pension under various other measures; authorizes and pays monetary grants accompanying certain gallantry awards bestowed on members of the Armed Forces; and administers various trust funds established by private individuals for the benefit of veterans and their dependants. The Commission consists of eight to twelve Commissioners and up to five *ad hoc* Commissioners appointed by the Governor in Council. Its chairman has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and the Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

Canadian Transport Commission.-The Canadian Transport Commission created in 1967 by the National Transportation Act (SC 1967, c. 69) took over powers formerly vested in the Board of Transport Commissioners, the Air Transport Board and the Canadian Maritime Commission, giving it regulatory and judicial functions with respect to almost all aspects of railway, commercial air and merchant marine services. The Act also provides for the regulation of extra-provincial motor vehicle transport and commodity (solids) pipelines. The Commission is divided into five Committees for the purposes of performing its duties under the Act: (1) The Railway Transport Committee deals with location, construction and operation of lines and with rates and fares; it also deals with the regulation of express companies, and telegraph and telephone companies (except those provincially or municipally controlled), and the tolls of international bridges and tunnels. (2) The Air Transport Committee is responsible for the economic regulation of commercial air services provided by Canadian air carriers within Canada and abroad, and by foreign carriers operating into and out of Canada. (3) The Water Transport Committee has the function of making recommendations concerning domestic and international shipping policy and the merchant marine and of co-ordinating such policies with those applying to other modes of transport; it also administers the steamship subsidies voted by Parliament. (4) The Motor Vehicle Transport Committee is responsible for the regulation of commercial interprovincial and international motor vehicle transport. Prior to the passing of the National Transportation Act, regulation of all motor vehicle transport was carried out by the provinces. (5) The Commodity Pipeline Committee controls the licensing of interprovincial and international (solids) pipelines and the regulation of pipeline tolls. Regulation of oil and gas pipelines remains the duty of the National Energy Board.

The Canadian Transport Commission is also given the responsibility for conducting investigations and research and for making recommendations on economic policy in all transportation fields in so far as the Federal Government is concerned. The Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Department of Defence Production.—The Department of Defence Production was established in April 1951 by the Defence Production Act (RSC 1952, c. 62, as amended by SC 1955, c. 52). It has exclusive authority for the procurement of goods and services required by the Department of National Defence and, in addition, has the responsibility for ensuring that necessary production capacity and materials are available in Canada to support the defence production program. The Department's responsibilities also include defence development and procurement sharing with the United States, defence production activities with other members of the NATO alliance and friendly countries, and the purchasing in Canada of goods and services required by foreign governments under a variety of international agreements.

The Department acts as the central purchasing and supply agency for the Federal Government. The Canadian Government Purchasing Service has five operational Branches—Aerospace, Electrical and Electronics, Shipbuilding, Armament and Vehicles, and General Purchasing. The Canadian Government Supply Service has seven headquarters Branches—Equipment Management, Traffic Management, Cataloguing, Specifications and Standards, Quality Management, Supply Management, and Regional Purchasing with offices maintained in Canada, United States and Western Europe; the Supply Service also operates the No. 1 Supply Centre as a pilot operation within the Ottawa area.

Within the Department, a Project Management Branch has been established to initiate a program of single office project management for the direction of all major acquisition project activity, both civil and military. Projects for the development and production of new defence systems to meet the requirements of other countries are also managed by this Branch. Under this arrangement, a single officer is assigned authority and responsibility for the successful management of all aspects of the implementation phase of an individual procurement project.

The Department's international responsibilities and functions include the management and administrative support of the Canadian Commercial Corporation, the establishment of co-operative defence industrial research, and development and production arrangements with Canada's allies. These activities are directed through the medium of an International Programs Branch supported by a group of specialist personnel located in the United States, Britain, France, Germany and Italy, and in the Canadian Delegation to the North Atlantic Council.